top of page
  • Writer's pictureJen

Don't be plagued by words left unspoken

I was looking at pictures and taking a walk down memory lane, pictures from 13 years ago. My life was so much different now. From moving to being a parent, losing a child, losing a parent, and realizing how much I missed writing poetry. Every day I’d write a poem, I tried to keep my poetry dark, ominous, and macabre. Now that Halloween is coming up, and I want to write poetry and inspire, my dark inner poet. The world is in turmoil right now and everything has is turned upside down. Poetry used to be my escape from everyday life, what better time to start writing poetry again? Regular poetry or dark poetry, I’ve always found it releases pain and anxiety, even if the poetry has nothing to do with everyday life.

Like my friend Sahreth, said, I shouldn’t feel shame with my writing. It’s okay to share it. Today I’m sharing my latest poem. The poem’s called unspoken. It came to me as I was thinking about being more open about my love for writing. A reminder to embrace our dreams, we only live once.


Unspoken

Through the haze,

There’s a fairy with a tattered wing,

And her heart on a string She’s perfectly imperfect

Nobody treats her with disrespect,

but she feels broken,

plagued by thoughts unspoken

“Chase your dreams,”

Says the fairy

“Not everything is as it seems,

I’m everything but ordinary.”

There’s no dream to big or too small

The writing’s on the wall

Set your feelings free

It’s the only way to be

We all get lost along the way

With scars to show

It might be a bit cliché

But do what makes your heart glow

Do your thing

Smile, and take another swing

Everybody’s a little broken

plagued by thoughts unspoken.

This blog post was inspired by Mama Kat’s writing prompt for this week’s writers workshop, “Write a blog post inspired by the word: Haze.”

5 views1 comment
bottom of page