top of page
  • Writer's pictureJen

Never make a promise you can't keep

If It hasn’t come as much surprise I love reading children’s books as much as I love reading the books to my children. If there’s something I’m confused about, a culture, something scientific, or even historical I’ll check to see if they have a children’s book on the subject. Children’s books are usually to the point and explain things easily. That doesn’t go to say that I don’t read adult books, I do, but I find children’s books interesting.


A promise to a family member

A few years ago my husband's uncle, who passed away a few months ago, suggested that I write a children’s book because he liked my writing style. I thought about it when he was alive, and felt like I didn’t think I could do it, but as time keeps ticking, and I have nothing to lose, I want to write a children’s book, or maybe a young teens book. But now that I think about it, I want to give it a chance.

My Latest Inspiration

I just recently read the book Found, it’s about a bear that finds a plush bunny, he thought the bunny was so cool, but he knew to post found fliers around town and hope that whoever found the lost bunny would find it. Like a lot of people he really hoped that there wouldn’t be an owner to the toy.


The next day the bear was riding his bike finding the bunny’s owner when a moose stopped him and said it was his bunny. But because the moose knew that special toy’s get passed down to another special owner, so he gave it back to the bear.

The book was from PJ Library, we get the books even though we’re not Jewish, I still love reading the books they’re so cool. This book and the book about mending the pigeon’s wing, are great for any belief. Kids need to know that kindness and sharing is important. Both books became huge inspirations, for me. I want to write a few books about important life lessons.

There’s still going to be adult books eventually

I still want to write adult books and I have a few I’m working on, but I want to write kid's books as well. In the long run, I’m going to be giving myself a pen name for one of the age groups I don’t know which one yet, but it’s going to be easier that way.

Don’t let anyone tell you can’t do it.

For anyone that wants to write, don’t let others tell you that you can’t do it or that your writing isn’t right. As I said before, I was quiet for far too long, and need to step out of the writing closet and finally do what makes me happy. If something makes you happy and it’s not hurting anyone else, don’t sacrifice your happiness.

4 views0 comments
bottom of page