top of page
  • Writer's pictureJen

6 Ways to brighten your mood

Yesterday was emotionally draining, the news about my dad’s ex’s son, in combination with learning that someone that my husband works with may have COVID, I go from being numb to wanting to cry to wanting to scream, and it all cycles through again and again. We all have those days that we want the world to swallow us whole. That’s why there should be a list of things that can help at least a little bit until someone can see a therapist or doctor. This post is for me in the future or for anyone else who’s having one of those days.

1. Spend time with a furry (feather or scaly) friend- If you’re able to spend time with your pets considering you have pets. Animals don’t talk back and they’ll listen to you as a human without any input. Sometimes the silence from your pet when your upset works better than someone telling you what you want to hear.

2. Create a thank you list-Take time to write a thank you list to everyone who’s had your back. It may only be one or two people, that’s perfectly fine. You don’t even have to give them the thank you list or a note. It’s for you to remember that you’re not alone in this world.


3. Just write- While we just talked about writing a thank you list, just writing in general help. Let whatever is in your head flow onto the paper, or flow out of your fingers onto your keyboard. Again you don’t need to show this to anyone, this can be for your eyes later. Yesterday when things got hard, I took to my Libre Office Writer and started writing poetry, when I was done letting it flow I deleted it.

4. Create a self-care box- A self-care box is a little bit like a first aid kit, but rather than having bandages, antibiotic ointment or a pair of scissors, your self-care box will have things in it in case you have an emotional day. Some suggestions of things to keep in the box are coloring books, craft kits, puzzles, and even bath stuff like a bubble bath. It’s anything that you know can brighten your mood.

Freya wants me to remind everyone reading this that your furry friend should not be put into a self-care box. She says that even though if a cat fits, they sit, animals need food and water, and keeping a pet in a box and only taking it out when needed will not work.


5. Take a walk or exercise- Walking and getting active can help by shifting your attention to stuff that’s going on around you. Listening to the locusts' chirp, watching a squirrel chase another squirrel around and taking time to soak in the beauty of the world around you is a great distraction

Running with your furry buddies is fun.


6. Find a group online to talk to-Sometimes being able to vent to strangers and talk about what’s on my mind helps. I’m part of a few groups on Facebook, that help with depression, anxiety, PTSD, autism, and whatever illnesses I have. It’s good to know you’re not alone, and that even strangers can lend a helping hand.


7. Contact me-This isn’t meant for me. It’s meant for all of you. Feel free to send me a message here or on any of my social pages and vent to me. I’m not a medical professional, but I used to be a Teenhelp chat operator. I can offer an open ear to anyone who needs help. No matter what you’re going through,tomorrow is another day and another chance to start anew. I love you all very much.




11 views1 comment
bottom of page